by Cecilia Damström

for accordion

Empty sheet

Cecilia Damström


Music Finland


Shapes Op.46 for solo accordion is a suite in six movements inspired by geometrical shapes.

The first movement is a palindrome that goes from the middle register to the extreme registers (both high and low) and back again, therefor the name “The Rhomb”. The second movement is a slow ascending line beginning from the low register. The third movement is swelling circular movements in both hands. The fourth movement is just as the name says, a “Pentagon Chaconne”, a Chaconne consisting of five chords that are repeated, and every chord consists of five notes, on top of which we have two independent melodies. The fifth movement “Dots” is a fast movement with dots flowing over and rushing everywhere. The last movement “The Icosahedron” is a three-dimensional shape, a polyhedron with twenty faces, or twenty equilateral triangles for being more specific. These twenty faces can be heard throughout the movement, as can the majestic slow turning of the Icosahedron.

The piece is commissioned by and dedicated to Janne Valkeajoki for his solo concert tour in the North of Spain in December 2016. The piece was premiered on the 7th of December 2016 at Tabakalera in San Sebastián by Janne Valkeajoki.




Works for Solo Instrument

Opus no.

op. 46


Janne Valkeajoki, December 7, 2016, San Sebastián, Spain


I The Rhomb, II The Ascending Line, III Circles and Ellipses, IV The Pentagon Chaconne, V Dots, VI The Icosahedron

Commisioned by / dedications

Commissioned by and dedicated to Janne Valkeajoki

PDF for promotional use


More Archive number


+ Add information