by Cecilia Damström

String Quartet No. 2

Empty sheet

Cecilia Damström


Music Finland


My second string quartet “Letters” op.61 is a commission by Daniel Rowland and the Stift Festival 2018 in the Netherlands, and it is dedicated to the Brodsky Quartet. The theme for the Stift Festival of 2018 is words and letters and I was asked if I could compose something on this theme. I got to know that Janacek’s second string quartet “Intimate Letters” was going to be played by the Brodsky Quartet in one concert, so I decided to explore the possibility of writing a commentary piece to his quartet and his letters. My second string quartet “Letters” is inspired by the letters Leos Janacek wrote to his beloved Kamila. I have tried to describe the emotions and words he puts in to his letters; heaven, hope, fear, fire and much more, with my own music.


2vln, vla, vlc


Chamber Works

Opus no.

op. 61


Brodsky Quartet, Stift Festival 2018, August 29, 2018, Weerselo, The Netherlands.


1. The first letter, 2. The second letter, 3. The third letter, 4. The last letter

Commisioned by / dedications

Commissioned by Daniel Rowland and the Stift Festival 2018. Dedicated to the Brodsky Quartet.

Archive number


+ Add information