Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 1

by Jyrki Linjama


Empty sheet

Jyrki Linjama

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 1

Music Finland


The Violin Concerto was composed in 1989–90 for the opening of the new concert hall in Tampere in October last year. The first performance was played by Kaija Saarikettu (to whom the concerto is dedicated) and the Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Leif Segerstam. I have also called the concerto Serenades, pointing out that the piece stands quite far away from the standard concerto tradition as far as the relationship between the soloist and the orchestra is concerned. The piece is strongly focused around the violin: in the course of the theme and the first four variations the soloist is constantly at the top of the hierarchy, and only in the broad adagio near the end (variation 5) has the orchestra got music of its own. The tempos of the first movement (the theme and variations 1–3) are fast or moderate; the second movement (variations 4–5) is slow.

© Jyrki Linjama, 1991


2222 4330 03 1, pno, asax, str, vln solo [1pic, 1ehn]


Works for Orchestra or Large Ensemble


Kaija Saarikettu, violin, Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra, cond. Leif Segerstam, Tampere, 15 October 1990.


I:1.Thema, 2.Variation I (Hommage a Brahms), 3.Cadenza I, 4.Variation

Commisioned by / dedications

Composed for the invited competition organised by the Tampere City Culture Committee for the inauguration of the Tampere Concert and Congress Hall.

PDF for promotional use


Archive number


+ Add information


99 pages

33.00 € 30.00 € excl. vat

Piano score

63 pages
Special size

26.40 € 24.00 € excl. vat

Solo part

25 pages
Special size

13.20 € 12.00 € excl. vat