Twitching Gait

by Juhani Nuorvala

Empty sheet

Juhani Nuorvala

Twitching Gait

Music Finland


Twitching Gait was composed in the fall 1993 while I was studying in New York under David Del Tredici. No doubt I was influenced both by my whereabouts and by my teacher. On the other hand, my choice of neither teacher nor place was mere coincidence. I was looking for a milieu sympatethic to the musical values I had already begun to adopt in my work: strong rhythms, melodies, unacademic ways.

Twitching Gait is dominated by a four-note melodic motive and a drunkenly swinging rhythm - a 4/4 "walking bass" with a slightly short fourth beat.

© Juhani Nuorvala, 1994


fl, cl, trp, vln, vlc [cl+bcl]

Premiere Fp: Patrick Gallois, flute, Joy Farral, clarinet, Stephen Burns, trumpet, Jukka Pohjola, violin, Raimo Sariola, cello, Kuhmo Chamber Music Festival, 28 July 1994
Commisioned by / dedications

{"commissioned":"Kuhmon kamarimus."}

Archive number


+ Add information


12 pages
Special size

9.92 € 8.00 € excl. vat