The Comet

by Jennah Vainio

Quartet for clarinet, violin, cello and piano

Empty sheet

Jennah Vainio

The Comet

Music Finland


The Comet (2004) was commissioned by the Danish Ensemble Nordlys for their H.C. Andersen 200 Years Project, and is dedicated to them. The piece draws its inspiration from the famous author’s fairytale of the same title. The piece does not try to follow the story line in a descriptive fashion, but more in the sense of evoking a certain mood. Also, the piece moves dramaturgically in a sort of circular time frame, while always keeping in mind the main point of the fairy tale, which could be said to be “The same things come again like the comet, they pass away, disappear, and come again.”
The piece received its world premiere in Copenhagen 17th July 2005, performed by Ensemble Nordlys.

© Jennah Vainio, 2005


cl, vln, vlc, pno


Chamber Works

Premiere Fp: Nordlys Ensemble, Copenhagen, July 17, 2005. Fp in Finland: Uusinta Chamber Ensemble, Ung Nordisk Musik (UNM) festival, Helsinki, September 7, 2005. Fbp: Uusinta Chamber Ensemble, Finnish Broadcasting Company YLE, September 8, 2005
Commisioned by / dedications Commissioned by Nordlys Ensemble, Denmark, with funds provided by NOMUS
PDF for promotional use


Archive number


+ Add information


88 pages

27.50 € 25.00 € excl. vat


21 pages

11.00 € 10.00 € excl. vat