Symphony No. 6

by Pertti Jalava

for small orchestra

Empty sheet

Pertti Jalava

Symphony No. 6

Music Finland


The motif that stands out most clearly in this work and unites all movements is a gesture resembling tolling bells. In this motif five descending notes are repeated three times in a steady rhythm, each time higher than the previous ones.

Each listener can experience these bell strikes according to their own imagination, but they can also be understood as the warning signals of nature: wildfires, melting glaciers, record breaking heat waves, droughts and floods.

The finale of the work is hopeful, we still have time if we significantly reduce the amount of carbon dioxide we put into the atmosphere.


2222 2200 11 0, pno, str [ehn, bcl, cbsn]


Works for Orchestra or Large Ensemble

Archive number


+ Add information