by Tuomas Kettunen

version for flute, bass clarinet, bass trombone, percussion, violin, viola and violoncello

Empty sheet

Tuomas Kettunen


Music Finland


”Freeze!” deals with movement, time, reaction and rituals. As a starting point for the piece, I used several videos and scenes from samurai cinema, whose flowing movement and rhythm fascinated me. While composing I asked myself, how could material from other medium transfer into music?

The person appearing on the video is a Japanese martial artist and film choreographer Yoshio Sugino, who was working on films such as Akira Kurosawa’s Seven Samurai.

Tuomas Kettunen


fl, bcl, btrb, perc, vln, vla, vlc


Chamber Works

Commisioned by / dedications

Written for ensemble recherche in 2019. Revised for Latenz Ensemble in 2021.

PDF for promotional use


Archive number


+ Add information