California Diaries

by Tuomas Kettunen

version for saxophone quartet

Empty sheet

Tuomas Kettunen

California Diaries

Music Finland


“California Diaries” is a reflection on impressions, memories, people, audio recordings and musical ideas the composer gather and experienced over the six months he lived in Los Angeles, California during spring 2018. Diaries include recordings of an ocean waves on Santa Monica beach, crickets, helicopters, emergency vehicles and traffic jams. Analysis of these recordings served as a base for carving the musical material and provided guidelines for the form and microtonal harmonies.


ssax, asax, tsax, barsax


Chamber Works


SAXTRONAUTS, November 7, 2019, Helsinki, Finland

PDF for promotional use


Archive number


+ Add information